• The Pickle Talk
  • Posts
  • “Pickleball is making me broke.” (an honest conversation)

“Pickleball is making me broke.” (an honest conversation)

PLUS: Pickleball meets prison, org announced + ALW wins historical 100 gold medal title

Welcome back, picklers

Read time: ~5 min

Is it me or are these young pickleball players getting better and better overnight?

ALW’s 100th gold medal win at just 17 years old was well deserved and amazing to watch (linked below!), but it does make one wonder…

…who’s next?

Now, on to the newsletter.

How to read The Pickle Talk:

  1. First, don’t click any links just yet. Read it all the way through, and then send it to a friend you think might benefit too.

  2. Next, come back and dive into the links that caught your eye.

  3. Last, go play some pickleball and stir up conversations with your newfound knowledge.

Enjoy :)

TODAY’S BANGERS:

  • Pickle Talk: “Pickleball is making me broke.” (an honest conversation)

  • Bite-Size Pickle: Pickleball in prison org, announced. More pro-golfers hit with pickleball injuries. Joola moves. ALW's 100th gold win.

  • Golden Pickle: WHAT HAPPENS WHEN…you put 60 grit sandpaper on the face of a pickleball paddle?

Let’s get into some... PICKLE TALK 🎙️

“Pickleball is making me broke.” (an honest conversation)

As I caught my breath, seated on the sidelines with my friend, the post-game banter began. The adrenaline from our pickleball matches slowly subsided, replaced by light-hearted chatter about the game and its grip on our wallets.

My friend, sweat on his brow, leaned back with a half-grin and said, "Dude... at this rate, I’m going to have to sell my car because pickleball is making me broke."

I chuckled, assuming he was exaggerating for comedic effect. However, what followed next caught me off guard.

“I’m currently spending over $500 a month on pickleball alone, and I don’t know if it's a 'me' problem or a problem with the sport. But this is crazy,” he confessed his tone a mix of resignation and disbelief.

Curious and somewhat incredulous, I asked him to break down the numbers. His list of expenses unveiled a startling reality:

  • Monthly Fee: A hefty $175, a sum that secured his access to the courts and facilities of our local pickleball club.

  • Court Reservation Fee: $10 for each of his roughly 20 plays per month. The quick mental math confirmed this was an additional $200 gone just to reserve the courts.

  • Other Expenses: "And then there's the 'etcetera'," he quipped, referring to the miscellaneous costs that often go unnoticed. Paddles, balls, shoes, and the occasional celebratory beer after a tough match; it all added up to a minimum of $125 or more every month.

Stunned, I realized the magnitude of his expenditure. Our playful pastime had morphed into a financial commitment rivaling a car payment.

"So, what's the plan?" I asked, genuinely curious, how he intended to reconcile his passion with its toll on his finances.

He shrugged, a mixture of resignation and determination in his expression. "I guess I need to strategize. Maybe find a cheaper club, play less frequently... or start winning tournaments to offset the costs," he quipped, half-jokingly.

We both knew it wasn't just about the money. Pickleball had become more than a game; it was a community, a passion that had taken root in our lives. But as the costs mounted, so did the need for balance.

Reflecting, I couldn't help but compare pickleball's expense to other recreational activities. "It's crazy how pricey this has become compared to other hobbies," I remarked, recalling friends who golfed or played tennis for a fraction of the cost.

"True," he said thoughtfully. "Maybe there are ways to enjoy pickleball without breaking the bank."

I mulled it over, offering a few suggestions. "What about exploring community centers or public parks that offer free or discounted court time? We could also look into shared memberships or group discounts at different clubs. And hey, maybe it's time to get serious about those tournaments—winning could offset some of these costs!"

My friend grinned, a spark of hope rekindling in his eyes. "You might be onto something. Let's strategize and see how we can keep playing without bankrupting ourselves."

As we watched another pair of players take the court, the sound of paddles striking balls echoed in the air. My friend glanced at me, a glint of determination in his eye.

"For now," he said with a grin, "I guess I'll just keep playing and hope my car doesn't end up on the auction block."

…a quick Q&A

Q: I love competing in pickleball tournaments, but the problem is it messes with my sleep. If I’m lucky, I get around 4 hours of light sleep because I can’t control my nerves. Is this normal and what should I do to overcome this?

A: Thanks for your question! I forget where I heard this piece of advice, but back when I was just getting started, I remember a wise player telling me: “Play more, build your confidence, and your nerves will go away.”

And he was correct! Nerves are a part of the human experience, but overtime, as you build up your confidence playing in more tournaments, your nerves will subside.

The unfamiliar can do weird things to the psyche.

And, if you are overthinking your plays, try allocating some time before bed to do so, and when it’s time to sleep, it won’t be on your mind as much.

I hope that helps!

*BITE-SIZE* PICKLES

🥒 The PICL or Pickleball for Incarcerated Communities League was recently announced. Founded by former inmates and pickleball enthusiasts, the PICL hopes to bring the game to create community and rehabilitation efforts for those behind bars. The mission: introduce pickleball programs into correctional facilities, offering a holistic approach to rehabilitation that encompasses physical activity, skill acquisition, mental well-being, and social reintegration.

🥒 Several golfers, including Akshay Bhatia and Bernhard Langer, have experienced injuries from playing pickleball. Bhatia's shoulder, previously dislocated during pickleball, resurfaced during a playoff at the Texas Open, affecting his performance. Langer tore his Achilles tendon while playing pickleball, leading to his withdrawal from the Masters. These incidents highlight the physical strain that pickleball can impose on athletes. Despite the injuries, professional golfers continue to enjoy pickleball as a recreational activity, albeit with caution during major tournaments to avoid impacting their performance.

🥒 Joola, a leading manufacturer in pickleball and table tennis, is relocating its headquarters from Rockville, Maryland, to North Bethesda's Pike & Rose development, signing a 35,507-square-foot lease at 915 Meeting Street. This move allows Joola to expand its team and launch its first retail concept with pickleball courts. The lease brings the building's occupancy to nearly 80 percent, alongside tenants like Choice International Hotels and Sodexo. The surge in pickleball's popularity, with approximately 9 million players in 2023, underscores the demand for dedicated facilities, as seen with upcoming projects like a 23,000-square-foot pickleball facility in Millersville, Maryland.

🥒 In April 2024, pickleball history was made as Anna Leigh Waters secured her 100th career gold medal on the Professional Pickleball Association (PPA) tour by sweeping all three divisions at the North Carolina Cup. This remarkable achievement solidified Waters' legacy as one of the sport's all-time greats.

GOLDEN PICKLES

🎫 A pickleball card game is in the works. Your feedback is much appreciated:)

ICYMI…

Snap Shots 📸 of the Week

No pickle left unturned 🥳

What did you think of today's email?

Your feedback helps me create better emails for you!

Thanks for reading!

Until next time, picklers.

Jonathan W.